Great Writers and Words of Success

Since I’ve never posted on this blog before, I’ll introduce myself. I’m Tamara, an aspiring author and full-time mom of three kids. Writing has become more than a hobby. I guess I could call it an addiction, but that seems too strong. It’s more of a habit that I can live without but choose not to. I’ve written three novels and I’m currently working on my fourth. You can read more in my bio. In February, I plan to start querying my first novel.

If you’re thinking of finding an agent, feel free to check out my blog, TamaraDarestoWrite.blogspot.com. On it, I have several links to some top agents’ blogs. I read them every day. They usually give valuable information on querying and the whole publishing process.

On my writing desk I keep two quotes. The first is by J.K. Rowling. “Be ruthless about protecting writing days, i.e., do not cave in to endless requests to have ‘essential’ or ‘long overdue’ meetings on those days. The funny thing is that, although writing has been my actual job for several years now, I still seem to have to fight for time in which to do it. Some people do not seem to grasp that I still have to sit down in peace and write the books, apparently believing that they pop up like mushrooms without my connivance. I must therefore guard the time allotted to writing as a Hungarian Horntail guards its forstborn egg.”

The next quote comes from Leonard Bishop’s, Dare to be a Great Writer. He says, “Dramatic characters, inventive plotlines, exciting and intense situations are not achieved through accident or ‘good luck.’ The writers of great books zealously learn the craft of their profession so they can release the power and depth of their imagination and experience.” 

I gravitated to these two quotes because they both describe how I feel as a writer. Time seems my enemy sometimes, and if J.K. Rowling struggles with it, I have courage knowing I’m not alone.

Leonard Bishop’s quote is the reason I write. I want to become good enough that when someone reads my stuff they’ll say, “Yes, I know exactly what that feels like.” I don’t think I’m there yet, but that’s why I keep trying.

About Tamara Grantham

I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, mom of five kids, and I like to dabble in writing during my spare time. My hobby has turned into a real passion and now I've won several awards and published a few books. I'm a native Texan but I now live in Kansas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized, Writing Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Great Writers and Words of Success

  1. loisasmith says:

    Awesome! I love the quotes!

Leave a Reply

