NanoWrimo and What I Learned

The first question your probably asking yourself  is “What is NaNoWrimo“?  Every November is National Novel Writing Month or NaNoWrimo.  Authors try to write a 50,000 word novel in 30 days.  That’s roughly 1,666 words a day.  Many succeed and other fall on their collective faces.  There are no prizes or anything such as that.  More of an achievement.

This year they hosted 256,618 writers  and supported
506 NaNoWriMo chapters in 45 countries. They also partnered with 520
libraries and 103 independent bookstores to help them transform their
spaces into community noveling zones.

This is my second year to attempt this.  Last year I came in at 4,000 words.  This year my fantasy novel, based on the Armor of God scriptures in Ephesians, tripled last years total with 13,616 words.  What did I learn this year?

Less T.V. = more time to write

This year I used our DVR to record most of the things I watched and wrote during that time frame..  It seems simple but I was surprised how much I watch in a week let alone a month.

Inform other of your project

I found that when I told people about my project they gave me space and understood if they hadn’t seen me in a while.  My wife let me put off some things so that I could “sit my butt in the chair and write” to quote Mur Lafferty of  I Should Be Writing.

People will support you if they know what you are doing

I posted information on Facebook about my efforts.  The support was great.  They liked me.

The writing critique group I attend asked questions and were quite supportive.

I even attended a couple write-ins with fellow NaNoWrimo participants.  I thought that sitting around a table filled with laptops in a Wendy’s wouldn’t be that helpful but I tried it.  I was wrong.  The competitions and support made you want to hit that word count you were aspiring to meet.  At home I was averaging around 300-500 words a day.  At both write-ins I went over 1,000 words in about two hours.

Finally

Just write.  Put words on a page.  I like to edit as I go.  To hit the goal you just can’t do that.  You type/write with reckless abandon and fix it later on.  The motto is December is for editing.

So write more, less T.V., get folks informed you’re a writer, and get support.

This entry was posted in The Life of a Writer. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to NanoWrimo and What I Learned

  1. winquier says:

    Congratulations on your NaNoWriMo experience. I just read about it for the first time in October and thought what an awesome undertaking. I applaud you and your project and working around daily life in such a manner to get so many words on paper in a month. I, too, like to edit as I write and would be interested to learn how this will play out in your December editing. I’d be interested to know if delaying editing is a time saver in the long run. I should be done with my current project by next November…maybe I’ll give NaNoWriMo a go also.

Leave a Reply

