Getting happy, okay?

For Christmas my husband bought me five books on writing. This is the same gift he got me last Christmas. I’m not complaining. Just like last year, I am devouring the books faster than I can consume a pan of brownies. (Don’t ask how fast I can do that.)

I just finished Stephen King’s On Writing. My most enjoyable part came at the end of the book, his memoir from a car accident that almost took his life. He says, “Writing isn’t about making money, getting famous, getting dates, getting laid, or making friends. In the end, it’s about enriching the lives of those who will read your work, and enriching your own life as well. It’s about getting up, getting well, and getting happy. Getting happy, okay? Getting happy.”

This struck a chord with me. We moved to Tulsa two-and-a half years ago. My husband started a surgery residency at St. John’s working upwards of eighty hours a week. And me? I was eight months pregnant with our third kid. After our baby was born, I found myself in an odd situation.

My brain, I swear honest-to-goodness, was atrophying. Changing diapers, laundry, dishes, repeat, just wasn’t making me very happy. Honestly, I was downright depressed.

Then I started writing. My brain woke up. And I realized I had more to live for than dirty diapers. I’m not saying writing saved my life, but I know it made me happier. What Stephen King said about enriching lives? It’s true. I’m living proof.

 

About Tamara Grantham

I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, mom of five kids, and I like to dabble in writing during my spare time. My hobby has turned into a real passion and now I've won several awards and published a few books. I'm a native Texan but I now live in Kansas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Getting happy, okay?

  1. winquier says:

    Love the quote and the attitude change. Writing is doing the same thing for me and it’s a second career in the making for me. Don’t get me wrong…my first career, being a mom, has truly blessed my life. At this point I wouldn’t have anything to write about if it wasn’t for being one. My Christmas gift was the new Dragon program…I think our husband’s had the same idea in mind with their gifts. lol I got the hint.

  2. titusluxor says:

    I’m a musician/composer more than a writer but the same is true for both. Creativity is good for one’s well being.

Leave a Reply

