Without You

 

Without you

I would have been fine.

I would have been happy and sad, entertained and bored,

confident and afraid.

 

Without you

I would have lived.

I would have worked and played, laughed and cried, triumphed

and failed, loved and hated.

 

Without you

I would have learned.

I would have read books and watched TV, contemplated the

Universe and written deep thoughts.

 

Without you

I would have done all these things

Differently.

 

But

 

Without you

I would not be the person I am today

And I am thankful to not be

 

Without you

This entry was posted in Poetry. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Without You

  1. I really like this, what a lovely way with words and rhythm

    • loisasmith says:

      Thank you very much. I’m glad you enjoyed reading it. I wrote this with a dear friend in mind, but I’m sure everyone has people who have touched their lives in a way that makes them feel like this.

Leave a Reply

