I Hate to Finish a Good Book

I hate to finish a good book. When I do, it means I’ll have to find another book to read. And that isn’t always easy. At least not for me. Since I’ve started writing I’ve gotten pickier. I just finished I am Number Four. It was decent, had a good story, the writing could have been better but it held my attention.  I love YA fantasy, fantasy, and paranormal romance. My two most favorite authors are Jim Butcher and Ilona Andrews. Any suggestions for what I should read next? Who are your favorite authors?

About Tamara Grantham

I'm a wife to a wonderful husband, mom of five kids, and I like to dabble in writing during my spare time. My hobby has turned into a real passion and now I've won several awards and published a few books. I'm a native Texan but I now live in Kansas.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to I Hate to Finish a Good Book

  1. loisasmith says:

    I know what you mean. I hated for the Harry Potter series to end. I didn’t want to leave that world. Have you tried Dean Koontz? I would suggest any of the Odd Thomas books or the ones with the Knight guy (Christopher, I believe) but recommend reading them in order. Odd Thomas is my fav. Dean is very awesome at descriptive writing although some of his books seem to take forever to get somewhere. In General, he’s brilliant though.

  2. If you like historicals, Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander series can’t be beat. The first book is “Outlander”, and they keep getting better. If you like fantasy, try Christopher Paolini’s Inheritance series. The first one is “Eragon”. Let me tell you, the book is much better than the movie.

  3. zoeybrat says:

    Laurel K. Hamilton. She’s lush.

  4. robertramrattan says:

    I believe Oscar Wilde said it that if any book isn’t worth a second read, it certainly wasn’t worth the first either. I’ve heard about Eragon but have never read it. Of course those who know me know that my favorite genres to read are science fiction and fantasy, and of course, that’s what I write about as well. Having said that, my favorite series are the Sword of Truth by Terry Goodkind. Another of my favorite series was the Xanth series by Piers Anthony, but I stopped at the book “Cube Route” when it was rumored that he was going to continue the series in a kind of “The Magic of Xanth – The Next Generation.” I always thought that “reinventing the wheel” as it were, was kind of a useless endeavor. Another author I like is Diane Duane, who writes various novels, including a series of Star Trek novels. Stephen King’s “The Dark Tower” series is another of my favorites as well as some books by Robert R. McCammon, which I am reading “The Wolf’s Hour.” Perhaps one of the best things about finishing a good book is that you an always read it again, like seeing an old, cherished friend.

Leave a Reply

