Supporting Indie Authors, Part 1


Image courtesy of Google Images/hhhomecare.com

So, it turns out that giving myself a little break from my 3-days-a-week blog schedule at The Chipper Muse has revitalized my creativity and passion. I just flashed on a great topic for a blog series on ways to help indie authors, and today’s the start of it. This series will be going on for at least the next four weeks, so I invite you to check back in weekly on Fridays. I’m really excited about this. It’s going to be good!

(If you like these tips, you can pass them along to your readers and your author friends and give them specific ways to help you, even as you help others. This is what I call paying it forward, big time.)

The main reason I’m doing this is to identify the ways that we can support the authors we know who are independent, self-published, working with smaller presses, or are not yet as well-known as the really big names (you know, like Michael Crichton).

Most of the friends I have on Twitter fall into one of those categories. And recently, one of them (Emlyn Chand) asked me for a favor. I reviewed her book Farsighted, which I loved, on my blog last week. She asked if I’d link the review to Amazon and Goodreads for her, if I didn’t mind.

I didn’t mind.

You see, I like helping other authors build their online presence. It’s what we all need to do these days, and why not help? I already share my reviews on my blog anyway, and it takes only a few minutes to write a two-sentence blurb on the places where the book is selling. I can link back to my blog review too, and maybe pick up a few readers. It’s a small but easy way to support authors who are not as well-known as Stephen King or JK Rowling.

Which is most of us.

By giving reviews, I’m helping other authors who could use a hand, and I’m building good karma. After all, I’ll be publishing my own novels soon, and I’ll be thankful for everyone who returns the favor by supporting me. It’s a good thing all around to be generous.

Author Michael R. Hicks did a great tutorial on his blog a while back to help you review and promote your favorite authors. Believe me, he makes the process look easy, which it is. He’s on my list of books to read and review, so you can expect to see more about him on my blog in the next few months. But I can tell you, he’s got a great blog for authors, with lots of good tips, so if you haven’t checked him out yet, do it today. You will be glad you did. (And if you’re visiting this blog because you like to read indie authors, check out his line of books. He’s got plenty to choose from, and he’s a nice guy.)

 

Image courtesy of Google Images

Now, it’s pretty obvious we can support authors by interviewing them on our blogs, reviewing them on Amazon and Goodreads, tweeting about them, and posting about them on Facebook. (Though we sometimes need the reminder to do it.) But there are other ways to help too. More on that next Friday, so tune in next week, same ChipperMuse time, same ChipperMuse channel.

(Holy ebooks! She worked in a Batman reference.)

Yes. Yes, I did. See you next Friday!

Copyright (c) 2012 by M.A. Chiappetta. All rights reserved. This blog series and other posts are also available on http://thechippermuse.blogspot.com.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

