The Coming of Summer

I love summer.  With the obvious exception of the heat.  I don’t do well in the heat.  I suppose I should live in Alaska or someplace equally cool, but Oklahoma is my home, so here is where I’ll stay until I can afford to move to Scotland….or Ireland…or someplace equally cool.

I love sitting on my porch (stoop, really) and watching the birds, the stray cats, the noisy neighborhood kids, the stupid motorcycles and cars zooming down my residential street, the airplanes taking off or coming in to the airport, the police helicopters out looking for bad guys in my neighborhood.  That is, until I can afford to move to the country………Any country.

I love eating strawberries, peaches, kiwi, plums, nectarines, all fruit, really….except pineapple…icccckkkkk!  I hate pineapple.  I can’t even eat the pineapple flavored life savers.  I went to Hawaii (40 years ago).  I couldn’t eat the pineapple there, either.  I love the fact that in summer, you can pick food out of your garden (if you plant one), or go to the farmers markets and get fresh….everything.  I love to eat tomatoes right off the vine.  Cucumbers, melons, bell peppers, the list goes on and on.

I didn’t get to plant a garden this year.  The garden spot was taken up by a tree that had fallen in a storm.  Had to wait for the wind to die down so we could have a bonfire and get rid of the tree.  It didn’t all burn down.  But at least most of it is gone.  But, the end of May is a little late in the year to start a garden.  (sigh) Oh well, maybe next year.

I love going to the lake.  I don’t have a boat, any more, but I love going to the lake.  Didn’t get to go last year because of the blue/green algae blooms.  Hopefully that won’t happen this year.  I would love to go to the ocean, but it’s not in my budget this year.  (sigh) Maybe next year.

I love the summer storms.  I can sleep so much better to the sound of rain on the roof and windows, the flash of lightning, and the sound of thunder.  Just leave the tornadoes somewhere else.  Been there, done that, don’t want to do that again.  I love watching the clouds as they scuttle across the sky.  Big white fluffy clouds —-oh look, doesn’t that look like a dog scratching his….., uh, grey clouds that hint of rain, black ominous clouds that promise the wet stuff, and hint at more……

And what about the fireworks????  I love watching fireworks.  Big booming, sparkling, colorful displays.  We buy lots of fireworks and put on our own displays that have truckers honking and others who drive by stopping and watching.  One year, we even held the display in the rain.  That was awesome.

Summer just seems …..comfortable.  Easy, lazy, peaceful.  Give me a big tree to lie under and a good book, a tall glass of sweet tea, some chocolate chip cookies, a mega can of insect repellant, a can of mace to keep the critters away, and I’m a happy camper.

I love summer.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Coming of Summer

  1. joeharwell says:

    I love are good words to use repetitively.

Leave a Reply

