Persistence

Persist – to continue steadfastly or firmly in some state, purpose, course of action, or the like, especially in spite of opposition – to last or endure tenaciously – to be insistent in a statement, request, question, etc.

If you want to be a writer you have to have persistence. Hell, if you want to be anything at all, you have to be persistent. You can’t give up. Trust me, you’ll eventually look back and see how it was all worth it. You must persist!

 

I recently had my own personal epiphany of how “worth it” writing has been for me. It was from a story I hadn’t worked on in over a year!

 

“Gateway to Destiny”, my young adult novel, had been put away, other things in my life taking precedent. I still went to writing group meetings, even worked on a few short stories and poems, but not my novel. A few weeks ago I opened it back up and started reading it to the group again. Lots of new faces now. I got some excellent feedback. Last week, I read a passage that had me thinking “when are we going to get past this and get somewhere?” I wasn’t the only one who thought that…LOL. I got some very good feedback from a few people in the group and realized that the beginning of my story, which had been written about 3 years ago, needed a LOT of work.

 

Despite that realization, I wasn’t bummed out…I was overjoyed. I had seen some of my mistakes! I knew what to do to fix them! I had actually learned something since I had written that! One of my biggest worries, that I  would not know how to fix (or even recognize) the mistakes I made, had just been lessened. I smiled, laughed, felt giddy. I had made progress! Somehow, somewhere along this writing road, I had learned a thing or two. I had persisted in going to writing group meetings, listening to others’ stories, experimenting with new ideas and it had paid off.

 

Everything changes. Nothing stays the same. Sometimes we can’t see change in the “now”, it’s only when we look back that we notice it. It feels good to see how far we’ve come, how much we’ve changed…by persisting.

This entry was posted in The Life of a Writer, Uncategorized, Writing Group, Writing Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

