Lessons Learned

 

NaNoWriMo is almost over. A month of concentrated writing culminating in a 50,000 word first draft. I signed up. I started out strong. I failed miserably! Am I upset? No. I learned something about myself.

I am not NaNoWriMo material.

It’s not that I don’t really have the time. It’s not that I don’t have ideas. I lack discipline. Plain and simple. Writing is hard work for me. Very rarely do the words flow from me like a river. It’s more like getting blood taken at the Doctors office. With my small veins, I usually get stabbed in each arm before they have a go at the backs of my hands where they (hopefully) get a slow stream of vital fluid flowing. Yeah, that’s a very good description of how I write…painfully, torturously slow.

You don’t even want to know how long it’s taken me to get this far!

It’s not that I don’t like writing. But I have to admit, I would much rather “have written” than “be writing”. There are lots of other things that I like doing better. So many ways to be distracted. I confess, sometimes I go looking for distractions. They aren’t hard to find. Life is full of them. Despite all the distractions and lack of discipline, I do still get some writing done. I managed to write 4,000 words before I threw in the NaNoWriMo towel. I know, it’s not much, but it got me working on a story idea I had shelved and I am 4,000 words closer to the end of that story than I was before.

NaNoWriMo hasn’t been a success but it hasn’t been a total waste of time either. I’ve learned about myself which is always a good thing. Will I try again next year? Probably not. There are some distractions that I refuse to let my writing distract me from. It does make me realize that I need to try harder to squeeze in a little writing time though.

Discipline. That’s what I need. And before I get any offers from all you freaks out there, I’m talking “self” discipline. No, you can’t watch. Move it along, there’s nothing to see. I just gotta make myself sit, open file, think, write. Sounds simple enough, right?

We shall see. I’ll get back to you on that.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

